Valentines Day πŸ’”πŸ’” Broken Hearts

I have always viewed Valentines Day as a holiday for kids. It could be that as a child I loved the sugar cookies with pink icing, the conversation heart candy, the pink and red colors, or the shape of hearts everywhere. It could be that as a former preschool teacher for 15 + years I spent most Valentine celebrations with my classroom kids or my own children. 

I’m not much of a romantic and I would prefer to receive gifts ( not necessarily chocolate or roses) under social threats from advertising. I have seen some desperate men on Valentines Day walking up and down the aisles of a store they normally wouldn’t shop at looking for something– anything!

What I do understand about Valentines Day is that if you have lost a loved one – a brother – mother – husband – father – friend , the constant reminder about love and loved ones only causes stabbing pains to your heart.❀ 

Even though I don’t teach anymore, my children are grown, and my childhood family members have all passed I can still celebrate Valentines Day. I can place one of my  memorial crosses on their grave, or write a journal entry of a memory with them.  Please remember to forgive others who  gush to you about their Valentine plans or gifts without remembering your loss, broken hearts can’t be seen only felt.πŸ’Œ

Leave a Reply

